did i tell you…?

With my hands soaked in wet sand i looked up at the sky

The stars stared back at me as if they were thoughts of thoughts that I had not done

Every star reminded me of an action that was not taken. 

a word unspoken, 

a deed half done, 

a line forgotten, 

a moment that just passed by,

a smile that I forgot to look at,

a tear that should not have been shed

a wound that left this mark…

 

As the stars stared back at me

my mind repeated these lines last night:

 

did i tell you that i did miss you

did i tell you that now it’s no more so loud

did i tell you it’s okay to leave the TV on

did i tell you a bill needs to be paid

did i tell you i had to walk longer today

did i tell you that the bus did not stop for me

did i tell you she was at the book store once again

did i tell you i exceeded the number of cups of coffee today

did i tell you i to switch off the toaster before you leave

did i tell you there was no milk for the cat

did i tell you i woke up to a bad dream

did i tell you i can’t be home early tonight

did i tell you i did well on stage today

did i tell you i had flowers delivered before the show

did i tell you the water was nice and warm in the bath

did i tell you i might not be able to look into your eye

did i tell you i might not be able to write

did i tell you i needed one more minute 

did i tell you i am scared…

11 thoughts on “did i tell you…?

  1. oh ya. so many things that used to be shared, but now these lines jus slip out of the conversation somehow, too busy we are “not living” the day. when all these lines used to be told, it felt so lived 🙂 i second arun’s comment.

    ME: Hey thanks! – I often think about the number of simple ways we say things to people and try and notice that amongst people. I am glad other are able to related to it!

  2. @ Sur – thanks for understanding the depth of simplicity!
    @ Arun – Hey thanks for visiting and sharing the same view on each line.. I thought I was never going to stop when I started writing this actually
    @ Vishesh – Thanks
    @ Churning – Thanks!
    @Red Soul – Thanks for visiting again and glad you enjoyed the read.

  3. mera comment apne aap itna lamba kaise ho gaya! I didnt even write the thing to Anar:!

    @ Red Soul – Me: Thoda change kar diya.. ab samajh mein aaya 😀 ?!!! But you did write to me!

Leave a Reply

