now the butterfly

she called me the butterfly yesterday
i questioned.
myself more than her

i thought
i did not like
the uncertainty
no certain place
to lay my head

Yet i know i m one
I like the flight,
in the unknown
I like that I am not scared

I used to be a scared little caterpillar
worried of walking past thewall.
with 9 mail boxes
stuffed with junk mail

I am not scared of the storm,
for I shall find a corridor to hide
I am not scared for I know not the way
for my feet will show the way

As of now I am glad of what I am
a black butterfly
with stripes on my wings
each of these stripes
tell a story of where i travelled
each of them a memory
etched with experiences and images

I might as well walk through the thorns
I can see your footprints sometimes
It’s not the same path you took

3 thoughts on “now the butterfly

  1. Quite a quizzical poetry, really refreshing…. I found something on butterfly by Chang Tzu a Chinese Mystic… he says:

    “Once I, Chuang Tzu, dreamed I was a butterfly and was happy as a butterfly. I was conscious that I was quite pleased with myself, but I did not know that I was Tzu. Suddenly I awoke, and there was I, visibly Tzu. I do not know whether it was Tzu dreaming that he was a butterfly or the butterfly dreaming that he was Tzu. Between Tzu and the butterfly there must be some distinction. [But one may be the other.] This is called the transformation of things.”

    happy fluttering 🙂

  2. I would still be happy to take this path of thorn
    for, I know your footprints on thorn make me mourn.
    I am ready to take this journey of pain,
    for, I know this would not go in vain,
    and that this does not last long, the days of lovelorn!

Leave a Reply

