love and failure are best friends

Love and failure are very good friends more like best friends. The wanderer in me knows them pretty well now. Like alot other out there I have had my share of love, heartbreaks, fights… The more pessimistic me initially thought ‘O why me!?’ and then later had paradigm shifts that taught me many more lessons. Obviously its not easy to let go of someone you love. And why should you afterall its your idea, in your head. What we forget is that the ‘idea’ was always yours and hence noone can ever take it away from you…

The wanderer in (quite inspired by the two most important men in my life!) is alive, kicking and traveling with this idea for years now. Often get answered if I have met someone interesting. I smile and say yes! So the next question is ‘who’?  My answer is, I decide how interesting I want you to be.. Ya, there’s someone who has impressed me enough with his imperfections. And the heart like a fool decided to fall for him. Listen, the heart knows no logic, it just knows how to celebrate and enjoy imperfections.

IF you analyse you would have been in love when things would have been tough, for that’s when you most needed someone to love and love you back. That’s when you needed to distract yourself from reality. Now thats was just the beginning of what love looks like. Then come the fights, arguments, disagreements etc. This is when love is testing you and trying to figure out if you are its best friend. It ditches you too! Ya the whole heartbreak scenario, this is just because it needs to know how good is your memory.

Love and failure have a great relationship. Love tends to walk away when you are a little busy with the other things in your life. Now it has a life of it own – doesnt it? We should allow it to wander, seek solace somewhere else, travel through the deep dark woods, before it decides to find you again.

Not being head over heels with someone is not failure. Infact its just making space for other ideas, evolving and making sense of what love is all about. Like all other things love grows. It needs to evolve and it is important that we accept it in its new avatar. This is no love or relationship gyaan just things that I realise when I sit staring at the moon. Do share yours…

One thought on “love and failure are best friends

  1. Loved it.

    Now, here’s my version of it, a response to your “Do Share”, because you asked to share mine…. I just decided to give the sharing a twist – by making this a more empathetic and cathartic experience of how i felt internally and what I related to as I read yours… Hope you appreciate (After all , we all are looking for commonalities that may bind our souls everywhere, aren’t we?):

    And the heart, just the fool it is, decided to fall for him. Listen, the heart knows no logic, it just knows how to celebrate and enjoy imperfections. I have been asked, if I want to change him – or why in the first place do I even him love him? How could I fall for someone who is so different than I am… and then not have the slightest desire to change him? And, I can just smile and say, No I don’t want to change him. Because I love him and enjoy him the way he is – even with his quirks, even with his inabilities to understand my point of view, and even with his refusal to ever love me back. How do you feed love, they ask because after all just giving, without questions, complaints and expectations can be tough… and all I can say is yes its tough, but just as I said, it is my idea, in my head right. The fond memories of the time that was, feed it. And the vivid imagination of what could have been, if… do. No, I do not want to change him. Even if he thinks so, even if it seems illogical not to want so. I just want to enjoy his imperfections (or perfections as I see it) as they are. I love him, because he is he, and who can be he-er, than he, but he?

    This is when love is testing you and trying to figure out if you are its best friend. It ditches you too!
    Yeah…sometimes I think the whole heartbreak scenario exists because it just needs to know how good is your memory.

    Love and failure have a great relationship. Love tends to walk away when you are a little busy with the other things in your life. Yes, you have to let go of the people you love, knowing that you are not giving them up but because you are moving out of their lives so that they may find someone they think is better. So that they may be able to chase their dreams, their independence, their space, their happiness. Yes, him that I love, I wish to be free. Even of me. It is tough, but you do it – because, you love them as they are, even when this means they want to wander as freely and as far away as they can from you and the bindngs of your love… Now it has a life of it own – doesnt it? We should allow it to wander, seek solace somewhere else, travel through the deep dark woods, before it decides to find you again.

    Not being head over heels with someone is not failure. Infact it’s just making space for other ideas, evolving and making sense of what love is all about. Like all other things love grows. It needs to evolve and it is important that we accept it in its new avatar. Just some things I realise when I sit staring at the moon. And, thinking of him… The man, who never loved me… And, the only man I ever loved….

Leave a Reply

